July 24, 2007

My Songs to My Kids

Posted in Baby #4, Eternity, Family, God, God's Sovreignty, Heaven, Jesus Christ, Music, Music Kicks, My Kids, My Personal Walk, Personal, Poetry, Prayer, Things That Make Me Cry, Thoughts at 8:29 pm by Dan Barnett

My wife and I recently downloaded a few songs on Itunes.  She wanted some new music for the time she is labor, and I had been wanting a couple just to have.  Now, I don’t normally start off liking the songs she likes right away, but they usually grow on me.  Today, as I was driving home from work, I started asking myself the question “if I were to play one song for each of my kids, what would it be?”. 

For Kailtyn(age 3) I picked “May I have this dance?” by Scott Krippayne.  It is a song he wrote for his daughter after she insisted on dancing with him in the middle of Starbuck’s.  The memories a dad has with his daughter as his little treasure and princess are priceless.  Sometimes, when I pick Kaitlyn up, she wraps her arm around my neck and just pats me gently.  For any who think boys and girls are anything alike, forget about it.  I will raise my sons to grow and depart from me as men.  My daughter, I will raise her as a priceless treasure entrusted to me until the day I must pass her to someone much more suited to walk with her.  When she is grown and finds the man I’ve done enough background checks on and found not even a stolen cookie form his friends, the relationship I have with her will be gone.  I will no longer be her shield.  I will no longer be her source of comfort.  I will be her dad.  He will fulfill all those roles as God intended.  I will be able to watch and see how God shapes her into his princess through this man.

For Landon(age 2) I had a couple.  The first is “I Am Nothing” by Jeremy Camp. Great title to build up your son eh?  “I am nothing without your love.  I’m unworhty but your death has been enough….”  I want him to grow up with this truth in his heart, so that he always has the true perspective guiding him.

The second one for Landon is “Carry me” by Scott Krippayne.  As he reaches times in his life where he realizes it’s either sink or swim, I want him to trust God to lead him through.  My prayer before every time I speak, whether a sermon or a lesson to kids, is that God speaks his words through my mouth.  My prayer for Landon is that God displays his strength through landon’s walk.

For baby #4(hang on, number 4?  what about #3)

For baby #3, we have never met, and will some day in glory, I picked “Wish You Were Here” by Mark Stewart.  It is a song from the perspective of the one who has passed and is sitting at the feet of Jesus.  “….finally free, to run with the angels on streets made of gold, to listen to stories of saints new and old, to worship our maker that’s where I’ll be when you finally find me.”  I also have a song I wrote for her, but won’t post it here until Beth sees it too.

For #4(J.C.B.)/To be born in the next couple of weeks…  I picked, among many, three.  First, “The Best is Yet to Come” by Scott Krippayne.  The title says it all. 

Second, “Holy Moment” by Matt Redman.  I prefer the Superchic(k) version.  As I meet my son for the first time, look into his black eyes that can’t yet look back, and say, “Hey Buddy!” while he hears that familiar voice that has been muffle by mommy’s belly for 9 months, it is truly a holy moment. “Let this be a holy moment now, as something of Heaven touches Earth.  Voices of angels all resound.  We join their song!  Come. Come. Come.  Let us worship God!  With our hands held high and our hearts bowed down.”

Third is the one I didn’t hink I’d like an wouldn’t if the baby was dropping into place so fast.  “Proud Father” by Jon McLaughlin.  “A proud father, of me, you have already made.”  Nuff said.

If you were to pick a song to share with your kids what would it be and why? 

5 Comments »

  1. Hollie said,

    Ok… first off, let me say that I like this layout much better then the last one you had! Second, I love the songs you picked for the kids and the fact that you picked a song for baby #3! I love the song “In my daughters eyes” by Martina McBride for Kylee. I got the backing track off iTunes and someday I’ll sing it, I actually need to get through listening to it without crying first though! I don’t have a song picked out for Kasen though… this one will require some thought!

  2. […] Songs to my Kids one by one(Kaitlyn) In a recent post, I shared what songs I would most want to share with each of my kids as a picture of how I see […]

  3. Cindy said,

    This is very touching…..u truly brought tears to my eyes……i happen to just think “if I dedicated a song to my beautiful children wat would it b?”….n I typed in a song for my kids n ur page popped up……I have not come up wit a song for my children yet I will put alot of thought in2 it because I want it 2 speak from my heart I want it 2 b perfect just like them…..I just wanted 2 say dat dis is very beautiful and touching……GOD BLESS you and your family!!!

  4. Dan Barnett said,

    Cindy, thanks so much for your comment. I believe that if you just ask God what he would have you impart on them, the song will follow that. That’s what each song that I’ve chosen is. It’s what I want them to know. Merry Christmas.

  5. Sarah said,

    Those are amazing songs


Leave a comment