July 31, 2007

My Songs to my Kids one by one(Landon)

Posted in Family, Landon, Mission, Music, Music Kicks, My Kids, My Personal Walk, Personal, Poetry, Things That Make Me Cry, Thoughts at 4:44 pm by Dan Barnett

in-the-dryer-002.jpgI’m going through the songs I would share with my kids as I see them growing up.  This is Landon’s turn.  Landon is a very energetic boy.  He likes to press the boundaries a lot.  He knows when he has done wrong, and he knows what’s coming.  As he grows, I will try to enstill in him the values that make God’ heart tick.  I will raise him to have a “wild heart” for God.  I want him to have a passion to be all that he can be in Christ.  I want him to surpass me. I want him to be the bold man I should be in leading a family.  I want him to see the woman he will seek to be his wife as God’s precious jewel that he should treat accordingly.  I want to be in awe of him when he is grown.  This starts with him knowing one truth about himself—-“I am nothing….”  I am nothing without God’s love.  I am nothing apart from God.  Left to myself, I am completely and utterly hopeless.  That is how I want Landon to see himself apart from Christ’s love and forgiveness.  Appropriately I chose “I am Nothing” by Jeremy Camp for Landon’s first song.  You can listen to a sample of this song here.  Also, here are the lyrics:

I’m always in this place,
Where the things I seem to take,
Are the things I wish would fade
I always purpose in my heart,
To do things the right way,
Then I realize I’m still clay
And this piece that’s being shaped,
Will be a beauty you create

[CHORUS]
I am nothing without your love
I’m unworthy but your death has been enough
I’m completed by your touch,
But I feel like I’ve been given so much and I thank you,
I thank you

I wouldn’t even face,
All the troubles of the day,
If it wasn’t for your grace
Sometimes I even wait,
To see if I’m awake,
Seems so good I can’t relate
Tour every word I crave,
And I’m grateful for every breath I take

When I’m feeling all my shame,
You won’t let it stay,
I sail away into your love
I’m taking every day,
To give my life away,
It’s the only way I know

The second song I chose is “Carry Me” by Scott Krippayne.  This is the response I want him to have in every challenge, trial, tragedy that he faces in his life.  You can hear a sample of the audio here.  And, once again, here are the lyrics:

Reaching the waters edge
Finding there’s nowhere to go but through
Searching the depths within
Seeing there’s no place to hold onto
But your feet have walked
Through every wave that I’ll ever face

CHORUS:
Carry me
Over the water
Carry me
Through the darkest night
Carry me
Over the water
Safe to the other side

Facing an endless tide
Constantly pulled out away from shore
Feels like it’s sink or swim
And I just can’t fight anymore
But you take my hand
Here is my heart, You understand

CHORUS

You are the one I need
Holding me close
Safe in your arms

CHORUS

Leave a Reply

