September 17, 2009

What next God?

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:12 pm by Dan Barnett

I haven’t posted here in awhile, but I need to vent, and FaceBook doesn’t give me enough room.

I lost my job September 2 of last year.  While on unemployment, I was able to find a part-time job that basically paid minimum wage.  This kept me under the maximum weekly income allowance in order to receive full benefits.  Unfortunately, that job qualified me for unemployment 1 year later.  Why?  Because, benefit qualification supercedes any extensions.  I was supposed to have 13 more weeks, but now have none.  Our savings has gone from 12,000 to almost zero between property taxes and vehicles.  I have no idea what’s going to happen next.  I said I qualified for unemployment based on my part-time job.  This means I’ll receive $51 per week.  But wait, there’s more.  Since I have a part-time job, I make too much to even get the $51. 

We are hurting.  I personally, as selfish as it is, feel very let down.  I feel let down by our government, by our systems, by God.  After all he has done though this experience to provide for us.  I still can’t shake this feeling.

Please pray that God would have mercy on me and show grace to my family.  Right now, we are about $1000 short of making it through the rest of this month, not to mention the $860 mortgage payment due on the 1st.  I know God will provide.  I know he won’t let us fall.  I just look at what he may be asking of me, and I can’t bear to think of the pain that will be involved on top of the hurt I’ve already been through for the last year.  The pain this may bring is far worse.  Over the last year, we’ve been ab;e to share a little about our situation to the kids and show them how God has shown up.  We’ve done it together.  To think of going through this time apart from each other for extended lengths of time just makes me cringe at the thought.  When Landon hears I’ll be gone the next day for a side job, he cries in bed, because he’s so used to Daddy being here.  I can’t imagine telling him, “Daddy will be home in 3 weeks.  But, that may very well happen.  I understand him needing to get used to me being at work full-time.  But, to have to tell him he won’t see me for 3 weeks, and then after two days of being home telling him he has to go through that again kills me. 

I pray God will just extend his hand and provide a full-time job here.

Please pray with us.

Leave a Reply

