August 1, 2007

My Songs to my Kids one by one(In Jesus’ arms)

Posted in Baby #3, Family, God's Sovreignty, Heaven, Mission, Music, Music Kicks, My Kids, My Personal Walk, Personal, Poetry, Things That Make Me Cry, Thoughts, Videos at 12:12 pm by Dan Barnett

This one is very difficult for me.  This is the one that Jesus just had to keep for himself.  Baby #3 stretched Beth and I and really caused some breakthroughs in our lives.  I realized through some circumstances and events that I have searched my whole life for someone to comfort me.  I always relied on the people in my life when it was God I needed.    Beth had a hard time a few weeks ago as her orignal due date passed.  A lot of emotions flared.  It is so different to lose an unborn baby.  I can’t describe the feelings we had.  Two songs come to mind for this girl we lost.  The first is by Mark Harris.  It’s called  “Wish you were here.”  The video is below, although he doesn’t have one released.  This is the best one I could find.  She is growing in Christ’s arms wishing we were there to see everything she is. 

The second song is very personal.  I wrote it a couple weeks after finding out Beth was pregnant with #4.  I shared it with her and am posting it here now.  Please be respectful of it.  I don’t know why I said that, but this is very personal.

God’s Arms

 

 

In our arms we hoped to hold you, safe from all harm.

With our eyes we hoped to see you grow up and behold

The future that awaited you filled with hopes and dreams.

We wanted to kiss you and show you our love

And teach you the love of our God up above.

 

But God’s plans were greater than we can ever dream.

He planned your life perfectly,

Though too short it seemed.

For although I could hold you for moments at a time

His arms are greater, much greater than mine.

 

Now in my dreams I long to know you as the blessing you are.

As I wait for that glorious day, when your face I’ll behold.

And when the future that awaited us is finally revealed

I’ll run to you and hold you and fully understand

Of how the point of it all was hidden in His hands.

Because…

 

Oh how I wish I could hold you for moments at least,

But you were always God’s little one.

And, now you’re safe in His arms.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. Laura said,

    The song is beautiful.
    I’ve experienced this loss as well and I found one other song in particular very soothing. It’s a song by George Canyon : My Name

    It’s cold in here feels like everything’s upside down
    I can feel you talking but I can barley make out the sound
    I been kicking around these parts, feels like a year
    I’m gonna change this world if I ever get out of here
    She wants to dress me in pink, paint’s my bedroom blue
    And I just laugh to myself, cause only I know the truth
    This love is my only emotion
    Haven’t learned any fear any pain
    It’s kind of funny with all this commotion
    I guess they’ve got me, to blame
    They don’t even know my name
    They don’t even know my name

    Well I’ve never felt so ready, think it’s finally time
    Cause that big old world is waiting, and it’s mine all mine
    Just then everything got real quiet, it got real bright
    And a man took my hand said don’t worry, Mommas gonna be alright
    Then he opened the gate, & I followed him in
    Said you can wait right, here till it’s your turn again
    And his love is the one true emotion
    Heaven knows no fear no pain
    I never got to set my wheels in motion
    They loved me just the same
    And they didn’t even know my name
    Didn’t even know my name
    You loved me just the same
    And you didn’t even know my name

    I’m glad to hear that you both are probably enjoying life with your newest little one now. I’m expecting again myself now and down to the last day or two 😉


Leave a Reply

