January 5, 2009

I’m in!

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:25 am by Dan Barnett

Bottom line: I’ve been a wuss. I’ve worried too much about what reaction I will get. I was challenged today by God, and shown so clearly what he wants for me and my family. We have been down a tough road these past several months, and some hard decisions have been made that I didn’t want to make. God showed up today and showed me a direction and a calling. When the preacher shared his burden for building a youth center in downtown Woodstock, IL ( or as he referred to as “within a yard of Hell”) my heart sank, and God told me, “This is what you’re gonna do.” That was it. “This is what you’re gonna do.” After the message I made my way to the front. I waited through 3 people thanking the preacher for the message. I then gave him a long-awaited hug, and I simply whimpered the words, “I’m in.” He knew exactly what I meant. He had shared a few callings God had placed on his heart from missions, to other things. But, when I said, “I’m in”, he knew. He looked at me and said, “I know this has been a passion of yours and I need you next to me.” I simply replied back, “Like I said, I’m in.” I also told him of another thing that God told me I needed to do. This one is harder because it involves emotions and reactions of others that I can’t control. Man, that sucks. But, God has been laying a decision I needed to make on my heart, and I’ve been avoiding it. I finally have made that decision. I couldn’t have without God being perfectly clear an saying, “This is what you’re gonna do.”
“Some wish to live within the sound of church or chapel bell; I want to run a rescue shop WITHIN A YARD OF HELL.”
– C.T. Studd

1 Comment »

  1. Becki said,

    I’m praising Him today that not only did you hear His voice but you also responded. I can’t wait to hear more about your “decisions” and what amazing work He’s doing in you & through you!


Leave a Reply

