March 30, 2008

I love Josh Harris(‘s hair)!

Posted in Blogroll, Discipleship, Josh Harris at 10:51 am by Dan Barnett

josh.jpg1st-week-of-june-027_edited.jpgA man of such great taste in hair style such as Josh Harris must be a wise man whose words are worth heeding.  Seriously, though, a while back I wanted to start studying my Bible better.  I decided to start in 1 Corinthians.  I took a new approach this time.  I decided I would not only read, but listen to respected leaders’ sermons on what I was reading.  So I would wear my mp3 at work and listen to Josh Harris speaking on 1 Corinthians.  It gave me a whole new perspective on what the text was saying. I never noticed in my own reading how the big issue with the Corinthians was pride. 

I’ve since started reading Josh’s blogthrough my google reader.  His site is one of my most frequented sites now.  He has done a series on Jeremiah 29 recently.  Check out the three parts here, here, and here, as well as future posts on the topic.

It is good to read what someone like this has to teach on the scripture.  He isn’t starting with a topic and fitting scripture to hs lesson.  He is taking a passage and allowing it to speak for itself.  A sermon is so powerful when the speaker just teaches scripture and allows it to speak for itself.

Leave a Reply

