August 31, 2007

Motivation

Posted in Christianity, Personal, Running, Thoughts at 10:46 pm by Dan Barnett

The other day, as I set out to run, I wasn’t positive I would complete my course.  It had already beat me once as my planned course of 3.7 miles turned to 1.9.  The first time I tried this course I turned the corner onto rte 173 and was majorly overwhelmed by how far I still had to go.  This mental wall beat me up bad.  The next time I switched directions.  I went the opposite way to get the long and boring stretch out of the way first.  It paid off big.  About 1 1/2 miles in I started cramping.  I thought to myself I wasn’t going to make it.  As I continued I started picturing myself finishing the course I set out on.  Just the thought of the accomplishment motivated me.  As I kept thinking about the exhilaration of finishing I forgot about the pain, and I even forgot how far I had left.  I was just filled with chills of anticipation.

This description sounds pretty familiar.  One day we’ll cross that finish line into the arms of Christ.  We need to continually remind ourselves of what we have in store.  The anticipation needs to drive us on further.  As we picture Christ’s open arms at Heaen’s gate the pain and stress of this life will go away—-at least for now.

Leave a Reply

