August 19, 2007

Podcasts Galore!

Posted in Christian Life, Christianity, God, God's Sovreignty, Heaven, Mission, Thoughts at 10:16 am by Dan Barnett

Lately I’ve had plenty of time to listen to the CD player in my car on the way to and from work.  I’ve been able to take advantage of this and listen to a bunch of podcasts during my commute.  It’s really helped me focus on a lot of things and understand some books and their authors better.  My next few posts will be about those podcasts and what I’ve learned from them. 

 One series I’ve been working through for the past few days is the audio from the 2004 Desiring God conference at Bethlehem Baptist Church in Minneapolis.  John Piper is the teaching and writing pastor at the church.  Some of his books include Desiring God, Don’t Waste Your Life, Life As a Vapor, What Jesus Demands of the World, and others.  His books are hard to read, as he puts a lot of bigger words and illustrations in them. 

The theme of the ’04 conference was “Sex and the Supremacy of Christ”.  You  may recognize the title.  He has a book out by the same title.  The book is actually a summary of the messages preached at the conference.  Speakers included Ben Patterson, Cj Mahaney, Piper, Mark Dever, and Al Mohler.  At one point Piper used the illustration comparing God to the Sun.  The sun is the center of the universe.  It holds the planets in orbit. Every planet is placed perfectly in the universe in relstion to the sun.  This is a picture of how we should view God in our lives.  We need to make him the center of us.  He has placed us with a perfect plan perfectly where we are.   He orders all, and nothing is out his plan.   What I learne i that I need to make him the center o my life, which I haven’t done. 

Leave a Reply

