August 4, 2007

Going out with a bang.

Posted in Baby #4, Collin, Family, Friends, My Kids, Things that make me laugh, Thoughts at 4:44 pm by Dan Barnett

collin-046.jpgcollin-025.jpgPicture almost any movie with the husband driving the wife to the hospital, and you have our experience on August 2nd.  Beth had been contracting every ten and six minutes for a few hours.  At 9:00pm her parents arrived from Michigan, and her contractions basically stopped.  We went to bed around 9:45 thinking it would be a while.  35 minutes later I happened to wake up to see Beth hunched over at the foot of our bed.  She told me she thought it might be a good idea to go in.  After a quick call to the doctor we were off to pick up her support partner and head to the hospital and get settled in.  Eight minutes later, that all changed.  “Oh shoot, my water just broke” was what I heard, and my foot heard, “Step on it!”  So I did.  I called my friend, who happens to be a cop in Woodstock(where  we were headed), and asked him to get me a clear shot to the hospital.  He obliged when the comment  of the night, “Go ahead ad rock it out, Dude.  Rock it out.”  The support partner was on her own at this point as I became what every dad’s dream is.  A race-mini-van driver.  At 90 mph I traversed the obstacle course ladened with unnecessary vehicles.  The tally stands at about 10 illegal passes, 2 red lights blown, 35 mph over the limit, and one illegal entry through the ambulance entrance.  The only thing I didn’t do was call 911 or run in yelling, “My wife’s having a baby!  Somebody help.  At 11:00pm we walked into the ER, and 27 minutes of yelling, rubbing, and trying to persuade Beth to wait, Collin slid right out into the nurse’s hands.  Yeah, the nurse’s hands.  The doctor walked in shortly after.  It was a lot of fun looking back.  We don’t plan on doing it again though.

1 Comment »

  1. Sharon said,

    Congratulations to you all!!!!!
    He is a very handsome little guy.
    Can’t wait to meet the new member of the Barnett family.
    Polo, Sharon & Mitchell


Leave a Reply

