May 31, 2007

My Brush With “The Rocket”

Posted in Personal, Roger Clemens, Things That Make Me Cry at 9:29 pm by Dan Barnett

clemens.jpgMy boss gave myself and my partner at work a total of four tickets for the Chicago White Sox game on June 4.  He was “compensating” us for a  tough and frustrating project we did a few months ago.  He must have really appreciated what we did, because he gave us dinner in the “upscale” restaurant at US Cellular Field, along with box seats.  Now, this was exciting enough until tonight.  I sent in a billboard idea to the Mac Jurko and Harry Show at ESPN 1000.  When I went to the website to download the podcast of today’s show to see if my idea was mentioned on the air, I read about a bet that one of the hosts had made about the game on June 4.  Low and behold I will be at Roger Clemens’ return debut to Major League Baseball.  You better believe I’m gonna have a camera, binos, and everything else I can think to bring to capture the moment.  What luck is that that I happen to get free tickets to this game?  Anyway, I didn’t want to rub it in, but I’m so thrilled I had to share it.

2 Comments »

  1. Stevie said,

    Sucks to be you dude, he isn’t pitching. He would have smoked your White Sox any ways!

  2. Dan Barnett said,

    Yeah, it was a bummer to hear his age caught up to his groin. Fortunately the Yankees were no match for the Sox tonight. So it doesn’t suck to be me, I had an amazing night at the game.


Leave a Reply

