May 7, 2007

Switchfoot Music Kick

Posted in Christian Life, Music Kicks, Personal, Poetry at 4:18 pm by Dan Barnett

One of the groups I like on selective terms is Switchfoot.  I didn’t care too much for them until their fourth album, “Beautiful Letdown”, came out.  On the album they have some fun songs and some very serious songs.  I’ll list two of my favorites off of that album.   The first is “Meant to Live”, and the second is “On Fire”.

Meant to Live

Fumbling his confidence
And wond’ring why the world has passed him by
Hoping that he’s meant for more than arguments
And failed attempts to fly, fly

We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside
Somewhere we live inside
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside

Dreaming about providence
And whether mice or men have second tries
Maybe we’ve been livin with our eyes half open
Maybe we’re bent and broken, broken

We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside
Somewhere we live inside
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside

We want more than this world’s got to offer
We want more than this world’s got to offer
We want more than the wars of our fathers
And everything inside screams for second life

We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
We were meant to live
We were meant to live
______________________
On Fire

They tell you where you need to go
They tell you when you’ll need to leave
They tell you what you need to know
They tell you who you need to be
But everything inside you knows
There’s more than what you’ve heard
There’s so much more than empty conversations
Filled with empty words
And you’re on fire
When He’s near you
You’re on fire
When He speaks
You’re on fire
Burning at these mysteries
Give me one more time around
Give me one more chance to see
Give me everything You are
Give me one more chance to be… (near You)

Cause everything inside me looks like
Everything I hate
You are the hope I have for change
You are the only chance I’ll take

When I’m on fire
When You’re near me
I’m on fire
When You speak
And I’m on fire
Burning at these mysteries
These mysteries…

I’m standing on the edge of me [x3]
I’m standing on the edge of everything I’ve never been before.
And i’ve been standing on the edge of me
Standing on the edge

And I’m on fire
When You’re near me
I’m on fire
When You speak
(Yea) I’m on fire
Burning at these mysteries… these mysteries… these mysteries
Ah you’re the mystery
You’re the mystery

2 Comments »

  1. Kurt A. Maldonado Kanzler said,

    Hey I love the on fire song!!

    A missionary group went to my church in 2005 and layed tile floor and fixed the electrical work…..We were all one big family and just had a really good time worshiping the Lord!

    Bless YOU!!

  2. Dan Barnett said,

    Thanks, Kurt. It’s amazing what happens when churches serve each other isn’t it.


Leave a Reply

