May 1, 2007

Rebirth

Posted in Christian Life, Music, My Personal Walk, Personal, Poetry, Religion, The Church, Thoughts, Videos at 9:51 pm by Dan Barnett

comatose5.jpg      If you look at my vodpod, you’ll see the video for “Rebirthing” by Skillet.  This band is one of my most recent favorites.  If you look at the lyrics of their songs it just bleeds poetry.  Their parallels and metaphors just move each song.  Here are the lyrics to “Rebirthing”.  Just look at how poetic the struggle to find meaning and a way out of the “paralytic” state we are in.  We know we can do nothing to save ourselves, and we rely completely on God for every breath.  As we die to ourselves, we are reborn through his grace.  This song is hands down my favorite song right now.

Rebirthing 

I lie here paralytic inside this soul
Screaming for you till my throat is numb
I wanna break out
I need a way out
I don’t believe that it’s gotta be this way
The worst is the waiting
In this womb I’m suffocating

Feel your presence filling up my lungs with oxygen
I take you in
I’ve died

Rebirthing now
I wanna live for love wanna live for you and me
Breathe for the first time now
I come alive somehow
Rebirthing now
I wanna live my life wanna give you everything
Breathe for the first time now
I come alive somehow

I lie here lifeless in this cocoon
Shedding my skin cause I’m ready to
I wanna break out
I found a way out
I don’t believe that it’s gotta be this way
The worst is the waiting
In this womb I’m suffocating

Feel your presence filling up my lungs with oxygen
I take you in
I’ve died

Rebirthing now
I wanna live for love wanna live for you and me
Breathe for the first time now
I come alive somehow
Rebirthing now
I wanna live my life wanna give you everything
Breathe for the first time now
I come alive somehow

Tell me when I’m gonna live again
Tell me when I’m gonna breathe you in
Tell me when I’m gonna feel inside
Tell me when I’m gonna feel alive

Tell me when I’m gonna live again
Tell me when this fear will end
Tell me when I’m gonna feel inside
Tell me when I’ll feel alive

Rebirthing now
I wanna live for love wanna live for you and me
Breathe for the first time now
I come alive somehow
Rebirthing now
I wanna live my life wanna give you everything
Breathe for the first time now
I come alive somehow

Right now
I come alive somehow
Right now
I come alive somehow

Leave a Reply

