April 30, 2007

WHAT??!!!

Posted in Christian Life, God's Sovreignty, Mission, My Personal Walk, Personal, Religion, The Church, Things That Make Me Cry, Thoughts at 7:44 pm by Dan Barnett

I found this picture on a site frequented most by agnostics and atheists.  reason_is_the_greatest_enemy.jpgI’m sorry but this just embarasses me to see.  Statements like the one on the sign are nothing more than results of Christians not understanding what they believe.  What are your thoughts on this?

6 Comments »

  1. Rusdy said,

    It is very sad! That sign clearly indicates the lack of understanding in Christian faith! Too many so called ‘christians’ putting their effort in the wrong place!!! 😦

    “Jews demand miraculous signs and Greeks look for wisdom, but we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles” 1Cor1:22-23

  2. astudent said,

    Don’t be too embarrassed. It looks like a set up to me. The letters do not line up with the background. The background, or grid, where the letters should be affixed is even different sizes. Notice that the grid is pasted so that neither the top nor the bottom is aligned with the frame of the sign. Be a little more skeptic of those who do not revere the truth. Remember Photo shop and trust no picture. Also trust no atheists.
    astudent

  3. You’re right in that it’s sad…. However, don’t you think there is some truth to the statement?

    BTW, “Rebirthing” is a great song!

    aA

  4. fma7 said,

    scripure is somewhat meaningless after the recent church scandals in Canada: Religous leaders must
    stay away from our children. Multi-generational epidemics of sanctioned and church protected pedophilia proves religion and children should not mix

    Stay out of our bedrooms. Work on correcting your own dysfunctional sexual urges

  5. Dan Barnett said,

    Yeah, I love the song too. It’s actually the topic of my next post. I know you(Aa) and I disagree in our beliefs, but I see that when reason discourages belief in Christianity, it is a misunderstanding of what the reason is showing. I know you’re on the other side of this, but this is where I’m at in my beliefs. I think it’s the lens you study it through. Many see God as a criminal for doing what He has done, and I see him as having everu right ot do what He has done whether I understand his reasons for it or not. I think the truth in the statement is that it is an enemy when the Christian allows it to defeat their faith, but in further searching reason will support it. I know many have found different results, but I personally it is the lens and context.

  6. Dan Barnett said,

    FMA,
    I don’t know the point of your comment at all. To respond to your statements, Scripture is not meaningless. The sex scandals all over the world are not failure of scripture but failure of men to follow it. Studies have clearly shown that having a belief system is natural and beneficial. The response to the scandals is not to abandon teaching young ones, it is not fix the problem. Don’t make a comment directly to me about fixing my sexual urges. I am a happily married man who has only slept with one woman my whole life( my wife). So to group myself and all others who happen to believe in scripture with these offenders you hate so much is just wrong. My main ministry in church is with youth. I have carried myself and lived my life in such a way that I have gained trust of parents and kids alike. This trust is something I would never take for granted. So leave your stereotypes and attacks at home with your hate.


Leave a Reply

