April 25, 2007

In Need of Hope

Posted in Christian Life, Family, God's Sovreignty, Mission, Moral Issues, My Kids, My Personal Walk, Personal, Religion, The Church, Things That Make Me Cry, Thoughts at 8:56 pm by Dan Barnett

As I write this, I’m turning my head from the tv.  Ryan Seacrest and Simon Cowell are literally watching a woman die of AIDS.  It’s so hard to watch this stuff.  I’ve seen video after video of it, and it hurts more every time.  American Idol, as you’ve probably heard by now, is doing a huge program tonight to raise as much money as they can to help with relief efforts in the U.S. and abroad.  Now, as my pride gets the best of my mind, I find myself thinking, “Why does the world do more charity and humanitarian services than the church that is called to lead the way.”  Many of you who are honest have the same thoughts.  I’m at a point where I can shut myself up and realize it doesn’t matter right now who does it.  These people need help.  Though organizations such as Worldvision and Compassion International have made hue strides in relief work and bringing the message of hope to these people, I think the church has dropped the ball for so long that these people will never hear the message without, dare I say it, the world who is reaching out.  What is happening tonight is a great way for us to get involved.  We cannot be stuck on the fact that it is a non-Christian organization.  We must act.  Sometimes we as Christians can get so prideful in our faith that we think the church is the only avenue to reach out.  I thought this whole Idol Aid thing was corny when they kept plugging it week after week, but I’ve gotta tell you They are doing a great thing.  I’m encouraged by what Bono said at the church he launched his own relief campaign.  He said we need to stop asking God to bless our work and start doing the work he has already blessed. 

You can donate at www.americanidol.com

I would encourage as well looking into sponsoring a child through World Vision or Compassion International.

We can make a difference, so let’s do it.

2 Comments »

  1. rindy said,

    Compassion International is another organization to sponsor through. They are Christian based. We sponsor a little boy from Honduras. You are right…everyone can make a difference

  2. Dan Barnett said,

    Thanks, Rindy. I couldn’t think of the name until I was driving to work today. I’ll add it to the post.


Leave a Reply

