March 27, 2007

Kids And Truth(they don’t always find each other)

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:08 am by Dan Barnett

As many will say, Post-modernism seems to be on its way out.  I still think it’s a huge problem in individual lives; especially those of today’s youth.  This is a post from my old site about this problem: 

I remember a couple of years ago, as I was planning lessons for the jr. high youth group Beth and I led, that my eyes were opened to something I never knew about. It’s really just another face on old stuff, but kids especially are buying into it. Postmodernism should scare the pants off of us. One girl used to argue with me that reincarnation was true, and her dog was really her grandmother. No matter what I said to her, she wasn’t budging. The Bible is clear that there is one God, and only one way to Him. The truth is the truth whether we believe it or not. One of my favorite songs on this is called “Glory” by Selah. It says, “One day eyes that are blind will see You[God] clearly. One day all who denied will finally believe. ” We can live our whole lives buying into what we just feel is right or ok. But, one day we will have no choice but to believe the one true god. By then, however it will be too late. One problem I see is that younger people will buy into something and just accept it without checking it out. I have known muslims who think they and I are ending up in the place[Heaven] as long as we believe in our own paths hard enough. This contradicts their faith as well as mine. I have known Catholics who believe false teachings such as salvation through ordinances and works, and also Salvation being a process we go through and hope to complete before we die. I have also encountered people who worship Buddha, claiming he is really the same god I worship. When confronted, most of them have disagreed with my beliefs, but instead of standing on their beliefs, they accept that our beliefs, though completely different, will get us all to the destination. In the book of John, Jesus makes it clear that He is the only way to God the Father. In First John, we are told that God wants to give us eternal life, but we only have this life if we have His son, Jesus. These claims that all paths lead to the same place result in the claim of no absolute truth. But without absolute truth we have no moral standards. There is no right or wrong. We have right and wrong, and we have a moral standard. They all come from God. These people who claim no right or wrong, 9 times out of 10, will abandon their stand on this when a gun is pointed to their head. All of a sudden murder is wrong. My heart breaks for these people. They have been conditioned by a sinful and corrupt world. The truth is right in front of them, but they are completely blind to it. I think part of this is due to our prideful and selfish nature. I may deep down want to accept absolute truth, but deeper down, since I have not been redeemed in Christ, I refuse to accept that I could be wrong. I think as Christians we must commit to not back down when confronted on our beliefs or told ours are the same as theirs. We must be bold and graceful to make our stand clear. Some say Muslims and Christians worship the same God, and this is 100% false. If you don’t worship Jesus Christ as God, you don’t know the one true God.

Leave a Reply

