March 27, 2007

If We Are to Make a Difference…

Posted in Christian Life at 10:23 pm by Dan Barnett

If we are to make a difference, we must…..

 

Be changed ourselves.

We must change the way we think, act, and live. For too long we’ve looked at the world as a place full of evil and hurt. The question of the week is always, “What is wrong with these people?” Well, duh! What do we think is wrong? The world is in chaos because it is missing Jesus. This question is just stupid. We know what is wrong with the world. We just don’t want to have to be the one to fix it. Hey, guess what, we can’t fix it. There is only one who can fix it. Care to guess who?

I grew up being taught by many sunday school teachers that I was to go into all the world and save people. At age 25, I realize that I’ve failed big time. I realize that according to this teaching, I have not done one thing right as far as saving people. But, you know what, that’s the good part. I know I have impacted many people in a positive way for Jesus. But I have not saved a one. I can give name after name of people who I have sat with while they asked Jesus to be their savior. I can give name after name that would credit me with leading them to Christ. But I have not saved a one. Fortunately the only one who can save is Jesus. It is the Holy Spirit who convicts, Jesus’ payment for our sins, and The Father’s approval of his son’s death that saves me from my sins. My job is not to save. My job is to teach. This starts with telling. Telling doesn’t just mean saying. Big idea here… Telling is saying backed up by living. Sometimes telling is saying by living. The Great Commission, as we call it, is taught wrong a lot of times. We teach that it means to go into all the world and make Christians. Wait a second, doesn’t it say something different than that? Jesus said to go into all the world and make disciples, and to teach them and baptize them. Don’t misunderstand me. I am in no way down-playing the importance of telling people of Christ and trying to lead them to a saving knowledge of him. If that is our end goal, however, we have not set our goal to succeed, rather just to pass. Check this out. What if a pitcher came to the mound and struck out 26 batters straight. The 27th comes to bat and hits a home run The pitcher did great right? Yeah, but the score was 0-0, and it was the bottom of the ninth inning. You see, if we go into relationships to lead people to Christ, we’ve missed it. If we go into a relationship to reach someone for Christ, and to disciple them and equip them to have the same motivation, we create exponential results. You don’t go to the plate to hit a single and go home. You go to the plate to hit the ball, and play the whole game. If we are to make a difference, it must start with us.

Comments On This Post From My Old Site:

Farmer said…
Your talk.. talks
And Your Walks… Talks
But your Walk… Talks
Louder than Your Talk… Talks

Some times it doesn’t matter what we say, but more of who we are. If our own life doesn’t back up what we say… WHY LISTEN??

Continue to Write Gus… I’m praying for you…

Leave a Reply

